User Managed Storage now available for Google Apps domains on the new account infrastructure

March 2, 2011
Filed under: Featured, Google 

User Managed Storage is a service that has allowed users to purchase more storage space when they fill the allotted quota on their personal Google Accounts. Over the next couple of days, we will be rolling this service out for Google Apps users as well, allowing the purchase of extra storage for Google Docs, Picasa Web Albums, and photos from Blogger. Any of these products that is over its storage quota can use the extra storage on a first-come, first-served basis. Users that upload lots of files to Google Docs, sync their Office documents to the cloud using Google Cloud Connect for Microsoft Office, or store and share pictures using Picasa or Blogger can now expand the storage space available for these files.

Additional User Managed Storage cannot be pooled or transferred to another Google Apps account and cannot be used for Gmail.

User Managed Storage is enabled or disabled by the domain administrator, and the end user purchases additional storage using his or her Google Checkout account at the domain. Data stored within User Managed Storage is subject to the same ownership policy as other data in the Google Apps account.




Please note that this functionality is only for Google Apps domains that have already transitioned to the new account infrastructure for Google Apps accounts. This change does not affect any domains that have not yet transitioned to that infrastructure.

– In order to allow end users to purchases individual storage, administrators must first enable the service ‘User Managed Storage’ in the ‘Organisation & Users’ -> ‘Services’ section for their administrative control panel. Google Checkout must also be enabled for the domain so that end users can purchase the storage.
-If the ‘User Managed Storage’ service is allowed, end users can purchase additional storage at https://www.google.com/accounts/b/0/PurchaseStorage.
– Google storage purchases are non-refundable. You can upgrade storage plans for the pro-rated difference at any time but paid storage for one Google Account cannot be transferred to a different account.

Comments

Tell me what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!





*
To prove you're a person (not a spam script), type the security word shown in the picture. Click on the picture to hear an audio file of the word.
Anti-spam image